Bookish Witch

Standard

 

A Bookish Choice

Daily Prompt: A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

Yes, you read it right — a witch. Not a typical one who had once poisoned Snow White with an apple. And of course, not your filthy stepmother or your strict, toxic professor.

Then, in a flick of her glittery wand, she turned me from a frustrated novelist to a successful one. She gave me two choices; the first is to make me an obscure novelist whose works are being studied in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and the second one is to instill in me a writer of books that will inspire thousands of wizards, including Harry Potter.

Which one will I choose? The second one, of course.

Honestly, if I pick the first option, there’s a little chance to earn money … and I never wanted to be studied by scholars. Meanwhile, I always wished to be an inspiring young novelist to millions of readers, and I wish to earn profit from my writing as well.

Thank you, bookish witch then. I hope you won’t send me a curse for this great favor.

4 thoughts on “Bookish Witch

  1. I would chose two as well, AND I would always be weary of the witch-why would the witch give me these two choices-I mean who WOULD pick number one? That witch might be a sneaky witch, who could be waiting to get her pay for my ‘good fortune’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

