Anna Career-ina

Standard

booksOff the Shelf

Daily Prompt: Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

“I’ve always loved you, and when you love someone, you love the whole person, just as he or she is, and not as you would like them to be.” — Leo Tolstoy, Anna Karenina

I am busy with schoolworks these past few days, and reading thick, hardbound books seems to be difficult. When I’m bored, i sneak a book at the back of our  designated classroom and simply read a literary piece while listening to the professor’s lecture. To make it short, I multi-task and begin rereading Anna Karenina, a classic masterpiece written by Leo Tolstoy. I was only able to read it once and the reason why I want to reread it is that I wish to create a book review of this. I was also amazed of how Tolstoy described aristocrat women during his time and of how he laid his own foundations of morality, emphasizing also on every individual’s faith, therefore making me check this book over and over again. The very sight of the cover of the book tempts me to read the entire thing over and over again!

14 thoughts on “Anna Career-ina

  1. I have Anna Karenina on my shelf and started to read it, but other things got in the way as well. I already know what happens, but I wanted to study Tolstoy’s writing style and see why it’s considered such a romantic classic. I love the classics and always go back to them if I can, but as you said…it can be difficult at times. Great post and I hope you get to finish the book soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It doesn’t matter if you finish reading it for a long time; what matters is that you simply read it and understand. The plot of the story is definitely researchable, but there’s somehow joy when you open the leaves of a book, an accomplishment that a diligent reader can have. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

