Okay? Okay.

Standard

You’ve been given the opportunity to send one message to one person you wouldn’t normally have access to (for example: the President. Kim Kardashian. A coffee grower in Ethiopia). Who’s the person you choose, and what’s the message?

To John Green, from an avid fan of yours even before the dawn of the Fault in our Stars:

“Maybe okay will be our always.”
Probably everyone who gets to read this open letter knows this quote from your famous novel. Probably they, your readers, were also stuck in every scene described by your words, as if your readers were living in a moment where both Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster had lived.
Thank you for writing such a masterpiece.
Honestly, I have read the entire book three times already, but my tears never fail to gather in the corners of my eyes. I saw how cancer patients could perceive love despite the fact that they are ailing and are meant to die soon. And for that, I am constantly reminiscing my days with my old pal, especially those days when we began counting stars, perceiving them to be near, starting to dream about the future.
I pass through charity wards everyday, and whenever I tell the story of Augustus and Hazel, the patients, especially the teens, were amused. I can see their eyes blinking in amazement as they say, “What happened next?”
And for that, thank you for being an inspiration to other cancer patients around the globe — and this fact indeed makes me happy.
Maybe okay will be our always?
Yes. I’m willing my okay to be my always.

Sueju Takeshi

14 thoughts on “Okay? Okay.

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

