Self-Forgiveness

Standard

I had this heartfelt conversation with someone two months ago in which he apologized for a bad thing he did years back. I answered: I had already forgiven you, long before you have asked for forgiveness.

The conversation took a bit longer when he finally said, “Why do you forgive someone so easily? My sin towards you is a large debt.” I replied this since I didn’t have anything to say further, “[because] love never departs from a humble and forgiving heart.”

This morning I read the entirety of our conversation recorded in my chatbox and in the end of it was an intriguing question which I did not answer, “How about you? When will you start forgiving yourself?” The question was not anymore new, in fact, some of the closest people in my life had already asked me such for once, or maybe twice.

Today, I had realized that forgiving someone could be either the easiest or the toughest thing to do. Forgiving my own self for my mistakes in the past is indeed the most difficult challenge I had encountered as a young human.

Lastly, I scanned through the short stories I had kept in my computer files and suddenly I read a quotation I had written in a persona of a traveler:

“A person who forgives others without any condition is blessed and is worthy of love. But a person who can’t forgive himself will always journey carrying a great burden in his heart.”

6 thoughts on “Self-Forgiveness

  1. This is a very deep thought. Forgiving others, and forgiving ourselves. In the contexts of ourselves, I suppose we are our harshest critics. In the quietest of times, our heart sometimes tells us the darkest things.

    I tend to forgive people easily too. Though I’ll never forget what they did in the past, I won’t hold it against them. People can change, change for the better. Positive energy always feels do much better than negativity πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are slightly different. Unlike you, I forgive people — then forget what they did. That’s why people abuse my patience and forgiving-attitude. I guess I have to change for the better.
      “In the contexts of ourselves, I suppose we are our harshest critics. In the quietest of times, our heart sometimes tells us the darkest things.” I will remember this. Thanks, Mabel!

      Like

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

