77 seconds remaining

Standard
I used the Philippine Eagle's flight in some passages to relate it to how a Filipino student's journey to the fulfillment of his dreams.

I actually used the “bird’s flight” as a general reference to the Philippine Monkey- Eating Eagle’s (the national bird) flight in some passages to relate it to a Filipino student’s journey to the fulfillment of his dreams. Photo Copyright 2012 by Nigge as seen at Cynthia Galang’s report at www. gambassa. com

This article was published three years ago under the features page of our high school campus publication, News Gear, where I served as a sports editor and photojournalist.  

 

77 seconds

Tick tock tick

77 seconds

And my heart beats again …

 

“Fly.” she said. I did not understand.

And then she repeated, “Fly.”

It was not until I reached this age that I understood such word. The word I never realized would be so essential in my journey towards my dream, a dream I never knew how it started and how it will end.

And that simple three-lettered word crossed my mind in each and every hour, until it branched out to other words. I accidentally peeped at my wristwatch and found myself in a room full of wall clocks. Afterwards, I mindlessly entered a portal emerged between those clocks searing with blinding light.

 

77 seconds

Tick tock tick

77 seconds

Tell them what I meant to tell you.

 

Four years indeed. I was once a young bird living in this sanctuary, ready to leave until such time draws near.

Yes, I am a bird and no one could ever stop me from flying. And this place became my home with its keepers as my mentors. Here, I nested and felt myself in company with others. I was neither caged nor chained; I flew straight to my goal. But the barriers around limited my sought-after freedom.

Exhausted, I glided back down to the keeper.

I quietly placed myself in a corner, and then he gave me water to drink, noting in a sad tone, “In one minute and seventeen seconds, you may now say goodbye to your comrades.”

He again spoke and opened the gates. Tears began streaming from the very corners of my eyes as he handsigned me to leave.

And out from nowhere, I flew and flew, until arrived to a certain place beyond the horizon.

I was in my fourth year in high school when I took this photo of first to fourth year students who filed up on the school quadrangle before the principal as a punishment for their tardiness.

I was in my fourth year in high school when I took this photo of first to fourth year students who filed up on the school quadrangle before the principal as a punishment for their tardiness.

At one point in our lives, we would realize that this particular sanctuary was the school we belong to, in which the keepers are the teachers who continue in nourishing us with knowledge and proper values until we are ready to be set free and be independent like an eagle proudly and confidently soaring and spreading its wings above the endless morning sky.

Outside this institution, there are many possibilities. There are new challenges awaiting for us to face with bravery. And the real world is far different from what we see today in our own, immature perspectives: it is indeed a war of principles and a stronghold of failures. But here, we were trained to overcome those storms and firmly stand up for what is right.

Life is indeed full of uncertainties. We won’t even know when the sun will set for us. But I am holding on to this truth: every time the sun will rise, there is a creation of a new dream, a dream that God has promised us to fulfill.

 

77 seconds

Tick tock tick

77 seconds

And tomorrow begins.

 

This institution had been our breeding ground and sanctuary for four years. We, students, are the ones who inhabit in it.

There are times when we crammed for a project or an examination. Some had been naughty and had cut classes. We always learn from our experiences. And those experiences will help ourselves in the future. And all of us will succeed together in a journey bounded by friendship and love.

What will happen tomorrow? I honestly do not know. God never gave us the ability to predict what will happen in the future. And all I knew is that I once studied and failed. But my dream was never crushed.

I now understand what she meant with what she said. Now I understand.

 

Never stop dreaming

Until you reach there

 

Sueju Takeshi 武

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

