I Know, I Believe, I Can!

Standard

I once believed that those people, who are mathematically-inclined, generally have a hard time in learning the languages and the literature, as experts mostly say. But ironically, I simultaneously discovered creative writing and mathematics as my deep-rooted passions, and I feel that I cannot live if one overrides the other. Therefore, as much as possible, they should be kept balanced.

Since grade school, I had so many detractors who did not believe in whatever I can do. For example, there are people who never thought that I can do well in mathematics, simply because I got straight 75 grades in my arithmetic classes. Thanks to my mentor, John, who was a theoretical physicist, for discovering my talent in numbers, firstly when I solved a Calculus problem when I was still in sixth grade. He once happily remarked to his student, which was me: “This kid is not dumb for not knowing the half of a half. Give him anything that involves higher mathematical skills, and he won’t bother solving the problem even if it will take him days, weeks, or months to finally arrive with a complete, amazing solution.”

I know I can also do well in creative writing, but honestly, there are times when I feel that I am not confident with my writing. That is why I have learned to blog, and because of that, my connections rapidly grew, and I am not anymore afraid of hearing criticisms from other writers, because I know that whenever they find faults in my writing, I can learn from them. Also, in my posts I realized that I could also inspire other people.

I know, I believe, I can continue my passion with numbers and letters, and I hope people will continue in giving all the love and support that I need.


A response to Daily Prompt’s “I Have Confidence in Me”

8 thoughts on “I Know, I Believe, I Can!

  1. Precisely – a college track and a vocational track. With all on college the ones that do not go have no marketable skills for jobs. If so many young adults have to have extensive pre job training the jobs go elsewhere and the community regresses. With focus on competing globally in sciences there is no focus on just practical skills in a community.
    But there are problems. Kids get categorized as dumb group or smart group. Low income families do not have home computers. Both parents working so little home learning. English as second language. So these may not get directed to the college track for which they may have ability.

    In my opinion math skills are a natural gift like music ability or art ability. Not everyone can do and we need to appreciate diverse skills as measure of intelligence and ability. I was almost denied a high school diploma and 2 college degrees because of very low math scores. That almost prevented me from being a high school history teacher for 33 years.

    Like

  2. In Miami, Florida they expect everyone to have mastered algebra 1 upon leaving the 8th grade. Then of course the levels advance. Many young people cannot do the levels and their low grades and inability to advances increases the dropout rate. Not everyone is going to work for NASA.Not everyone is able for college. I have advocated, but no one listens, that basic household math should be returned to the curriculum. This is useful and may keep kids in school. I have advocated making accounting and bookkeeping math credits. These are functional and give the non college bound job skills. The drive for academic high level math skills makes teens leave school with no math skills instead of at least daily usetype skills. Thanks visit my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Carl! Thank you for your insight.

      Based on my observation, how schools manage the curriculum there in Miami is somehow the same here in the Philippines. But in here, the situation is much much worse than average students could possibly imagine — by the end of 7th grade everyone is expected to master algebra 1/introductory algebra. Upon high school graduation, everyone’s expected to have taken higher chemistry and physics, which most of the students hated (well, depending on the teacher).

      But in our educational system, students are given the chance to study accounting and bookkeeping, but both of them are under technical-vocational curriculum. Pure math classes are separated from the other two. 😀 I haven’t seen any Philippine statistics yet regarding the rate of drop-out due to “hatred” towards mathematics.

      I believe also that those who are really prolific in mathematics and the sciences should be under a different curriculum. 🙂

      I believe in your advocacy, Carl. But sometimes we have to endure — for oftentimes advocates of pure intent are seldom heard.

      Welcome to my blog!
      S.J. Takeshi.

      Like

Your thoughts are valuable. Share them.

